On the border that lies between Austria and Hungary is a unique and natural space, the Neusiedler See, that is located within a region that has much to offer. In 1954, the first biological station was established in the reed zone of the Neusiedler See. Today, its large variety of natural wonders not only fascinates scientists but also attracts visitors from all over the world.
A few kilometres southeast of the lake, on the Hungarian side, is the sleepy village of Fertöd whose name originated from the lake’s Hungarian name. Although Fertöd contains some beautiful architecture, its main attraction lies outside the village. The Rococo castle of the former Hungarian prince, Nikolaus Eszterházy, was first built as a modest hunting lodge. However, inspired by a visit to Versailles in 1764, Prince Nikolaus ordered that the complex be completely rebuilt and almost 50 years passed until construction work of the new residence was completed.
On the Austrian side of the lake, Mörbisch am See dates back to the 5th century B.C. Various archaeological finds show that both Celts and Romans settled in the area.
One of the region’s many fascinating villages, Oggau became known as Austria’s oldest red wine village, after drinking bowls from Roman times that contained traces of red wine were excavated.
The beauty of the landscape, the incredible variety of flora and fauna, and the fascinating history of its towns and villages, all these factors leave an indelible impression of Neusiedler See.